I didn’t see that one coming!

Published October 4, 2012 by Valerie Smith

Last week, I reached out to DHS regarding becoming a foster parent.  We had “the talk” about my DUI’s and whether or not that would be a problem.  I still don’t know the answer, but the woman I spoke with was kind enough to ask me some questions about what happened and what is different now which is more than I got the last time.    She told me that she did not have the authority to approve me based on the multiple arrests, but that she would run the background check, gather the necessary information and take my file to “the committee” for review.  In the meantime, she scheduled a home visit for the 10th.  As of today, I have not heard anything good, bad, or otherwise.  I am choosing to believe that no news is good news and am preparing for the visit next week.

And then, today as I left work I checked my email.  I did not recognize the name of the sender right away, but I did recognize the name in the subject line.  As I read the email, a chill came over me.  Is this a joke? A cruel trick?  What prompted this?  Im still reeling from the email.  Although Im not comfortable writing about details yet, suffice to say God really knocked my socks off with this one!!!!

For now, I think Ill just say, Be careful what you pray for because God might just decide to answer it in a BIG way!

More to come……………….

Leave a comment